Nina's Textile Trail

My OCA Textile Tales

Textiles 1 – A Creative Approach – Building a Visual Vocabulary – Project 1, Making Marks – Stage 4 Working from your sketchbooks

Leave a comment

DSCN2601

I chose some images from the work I have done so far and produced the above textural drawings, spending about five minutes on each.

REVIEW

Have you ever thought about drawing this way before?

I have occasionally attempted to draw this way, but have always reverted to my old school O-Level Art ‘perfect outline and reproduction’ approach, which is definitely still hindering me.  I feel I’m on the verge of being able to use this approach but old habits are hard to break and I need to practice, practice, practice to feel confident.

Were you able to be inventive about the range of marks you made?

I think I am capable of being very inventive with a range of marks but still lack confidence and need to let go and keep on drawing.

Did you explore a wide range of media?

I felt I explored a wide range of media and found it very interesting to note the differences between the more expensive items which were smoother, softer, richer in pigment and so much more exciting and inspirational to use than some of the cheaper pens, pencils and pastels I have previously used.

Are you pleased with what you have done?  Will it help you to approach drawing more confidently? 

I am pleased with my work so far.  My lack of confidence was really interfering with my progress.  Whilst I knew I would find it difficult to make enough time between April and September, I have been very slow because I was finding it very difficult to motivate myself to draw.  I feel I have overcome a hurdle in the last few weeks.

Which exercise did you most enjoy?  Why?

I really enjoyed trying out lots of different ways and media to make marks in Exercise 4 of Stage 2 Making Marks in an Expressive Way and then putting that into practice in Exercise 1 and 2 of Stage 3 Using marks to create surface textures.  I find texture and colour very appealing and it was exciting to experiment with new methods and media.

Which media did you most enjoy working with? Why?

I really enjoyed working with collage because it is so versatile, especially creating coloured, textured and patterned papers which give such a wealth of opportunity for individual work.

What other forms of mark making could you try? 

I am keen to explore printing and collage further.  Decorating papers is particularly interesting to me.  I love the feel and the look of a combination of different papers, colours, patterns and textures.  I would like to explore adding marks to paper with machine and hand stitch.

How will these exercises enrich your textile work in the future?

The exercises have given me the tools to look for texture around me, to consider the qualities and feelings it arouses, to record those aspects with a series of marks which can then be interpreted in stitch.  I feel I have taken the first steps towards producing individual work.

Leave a Reply

