Nina's Textile Trail

My OCA Textile Tales

Artist – Hinke Schreuders – AMAZING embroidered art

Leave a comment

The following is a link to an article on the artist Hinke Schreuders by Christopher Jobs who reports that she seeks to   “subtly confuse notions of feminine vulnerability and reinforce the position of embroidery as an artistic medium,” 

http://www.thisiscolossal.com/2014/08/embroidered-images-hinke-schreuders/

The work is very powerful, yet beautiful or perhaps beautiful, yet powerful, as it is the embroidery that attracts me to the work but the more I look at it, the message for me is that women feel trapped in their lives by the role they have adopted and their perceived responsibilities. My initial response is joy and wonder at the surprise of seeing embroidery presented in this way and it draws me in, I want to touch it and feel it, but as I look through the pieces I feel sadness as I realise the women are somehow caged.  I really admire this artist’s work.

Leave a Reply

