Nina's Textile Trail

My OCA Textile Tales

Part 2 Building a visual vocabulary – Project 3 Colour – Stage 3 Recording colours accurately Exercise 3

Leave a comment

This exercise involves mixing colour to match an image, and making a 5 cm area.  I chose to cut out some pictures 5cm square.  This wasn’t very successful as the scale was too small and I couldn’t easily discern the different shades of colours.  In addition, I am still finding the pinks more difficult to mix than other colours.  I managed to turn the exercise into a  more positive experience by selecting various papers, fabric and threads to match the chosen pictures.

DSCN2727

Frustrated by not being able to mix some of the pinks, I experimented with various paints and eventually found that Magenta Red Procion dye mixed with white gouache gave me the desired shades.

DSCN2731DSCN2732

DSCN2728

Leave a Reply

