Nina's Textile Trail

My OCA Textile Tales

Stitch Samples

Leave a comment

Inspired by Julia Caprara’s book (Caprara J (2008) Exploring Colour d 4Daisy), the following was stitched into linen scrim using a variety of yarns and cretan stitch.  I enjoyed using the scrim background, it was very easy to stitch into with thicker yarns and the finished piece has a lovely feel.  I was new to cretan stitch and learnt that it is very versatile and a useful stitch to blend colours.

DSCN2696

Continuing to explore stitch, backgrounds and colour the following is stitched into some yellow netting previously used to wrap a bouquet of flowers.

DSCN2697

I also enjoyed using this ground, although initially the grid like pattern of the holes kept me a bit neat & tidy.  When adding the finer threads towards the end, I felt freer with the needle and aim to produce more samples exploring difference stitches and thread.

The above samples and some of my previous work is circular as they were produced in an embroidery hoop and I like the look in this context.

The following explores a variety of ‘thread’ and a potato sack backing.

DSCN2738

Although I’m not sure about the chain stitch, the piece appeals to me in a different way to the other samples and I want to explore more, I like the natural fibres, particularly the raffia with the hessian, the crunch and crackle when handling, and the texture of the natural string,  (not sure about the green plastic string, although it offers a good contrast).

Leave a Reply

