Nina's Textile Trail

My OCA Textile Tales

Part 2 Building a Visual Vocabulary – Project 3 Colour – Stage 6 Combining textures and colour effects

Leave a comment

Still working with the pointillism technique, we were asked to look for a drawing with pastel colours to develop in terms of image making and made a sample.   My thread stash is limited in pastel colours so I sketched a viola which matched the pastel colours I had.  I didn’t plan it well on paper first with colour pencils as suggested and was really unhappy with the sample.  It was too small and not me at all.  I then started to stitch a bigger petal so I could use the background in the image but decided it was so unlike me, I needed to think again.

DSCN2753

As a positive note, I used some silk cotton to stitch into which was lovely to use.

I then sketched some flowers from a birthday card and stitched a sample into linen scrim

DSCN2754DSCN2755

I

Leave a Reply

