Nina's Textile Trail

My OCA Textile Tales

Part 2 Building a visual vocabulary – Project 4 Developing Design Ideas – Stage 4 Developing Design Ideas

Leave a comment

This stage is about taking some of my original drawings and using them as a new starting point to generate ideas.  Initially I was concerned that I was just playing and not making progress but after I while I realised I was developing new ideas.

DSCN2712DSCN2695

DSCN2780DSCN2781

Some experiments were more successful than others, but by continuing to try different media and colours, I felt I was progressing.

DSCN2794DSCN2795

DSCN2796DSCN2797I

The colour combination of the bottom right is my favourite, with bottom left coming a close second and prefer the busier spirals of the bottom two.  I also tried acrylic ink onto wet paper with I would consider exploring further:

DSCN2784DSCN2783

DSCN2782

Starting with another drawing, a favourite from earlier:

DSCN2768

I looked at layering oil pastels again and scraping:

DSCN2787

Although this wasn’t entirely successful, what I liked was the lines I had scraped, which are not easy to see.  So I worked on using those in different ways:

DSCN2789DSCN2788

DSCN2790DSCN2791

and arrived at the following:

DSCN2792

I like bottom right hand corner of the picture and love the orange and green on the white background and will definitely explore this further.

I felt less successful with the following:

DSCN2762

I started with the small drawing in the middle left, I thought it was a bit simple for this purpose but loved it so gave it a go.

DSCN2785

At the time, I couldn’t work out how to take it forward and decided that I probably loved it for the colours.

DSCN2786

I can see now I could have developed the leaf pattern and the colours further and may return to it later.

Leave a Reply

