Nina's Textile Trail

My OCA Textile Tales

Sketchbook – Soft Pastels

Leave a comment

Whilst working on Stage 4 Developing design ideas which involved quite a bit of drawing, I felt ignorant of how to use the various media I have gathered since starting the course to its full potential.  I looked online for some information on soft pastels and found the ‘How to use soft pastels’ guide on http://www.reeves-art.com useful.

It seems ridiculous now but I just wasn’t using enough pressure or really varying the pressure when I used pastels and nor had I thought about the variety of marks they could produce.  So I am happy to note just how vibrant and versatile they can be, although I’m sure the more I use them in different situations, the more I will learn.

DSCN2803DSCN2804

DSCN2801DSCN2802

Following my exploration into soft pastels, I added some background colour to some earlier drawings, which iimprovedtheir look.

DSCN2800DSCN2799

Leave a Reply

