Nina's Textile Trail

My OCA Textile Tales

Textiles 1: A Creative Approach – Assignment 1 – Tutor Report & Reactions

Leave a comment

I had overlooked from the ‘Before you start’ Section of the course folder that my learning log should include my tutor’s reports on assignments and my reactions to these.   The following is the Tutor report received after submission of Assignment 1.

Overall Comments

Overall, a very good start to the course, well done. You have worked really hard with each aspect of the assignment and it looks like you have enjoyed the process of developing your creativity, technical and visual skills over this first assignment. It will be interesting to see how both your drawing and textiles develop throughout the course and as your confidence grows. Ultimately, this is a strong start to the course and I hope that you manage to maintain your commitment and enthusiasm.

Assessment potential

You may want to get credit for your hard work and achievements with the OCA by formally submitting your work for assessment at the end of the module. More and more people are taking the idea of lifelong learning seriously by submitting their work for assessment but it is entirely up to you. We are just as keen to support you whether you study for pleasure or to gain qualifications. Please consider whether you want to put your work forward for assessment and let me know your decision when you submit Assignment 2. I can then give you feedback on how well your work meets the assessment requirements.

Feedback on assignment: Drawing/mark-making

Lovely exploration of mark-making, both thoughtful and expressive, and using a range of pencil, pens, medias and tools with beautiful results. For example, of the ‘fast’ marks (Pg.3), are amongst those that I feel are most successful. They both feel fast in the action in which they were made but also the grain and quality of the mark communicates this energy and lighter touch on the surface of the paper. Don’t worry about getting lost in the joy of making, that’s a good thing! There a fine balance to be explored between the thinking and expressive thought and then allowing something to happen as the mind can too easily try to draw an image or representation rather than feeling. Although, I don’t feel this is a problem for you and you appear to have really enjoyed this exercise.

You have used this exercise really well but continue to build on this and your exploration of the tones and qualities of medias and materials that you use. Explore how the sensitivity and intention of a mark can influence the interpretation of a drawing and in turn inform your textile interpretations. Start to explore larger scale or use a viewfinder to focus on and enlarge an area.   Lovely developments in Stages 2 and 3 looking at texture using resist techniques, printing and collage.  Your rubbings are also very nice and show some lovely qualities.

Ideas to progress further with your drawing:

– More exploration of scale.

– Use a viewfinder to isolate areas.

– Use different kinds of paper – the surface will always affect the outcome.

– Identify artists which use line drawing in styles that appeal to you and add these to your blog / log with a few comments

– Explore drawing positive and negative space.

Feedback on assignment: Stitch

Very nice exploration of different machine stitch and textures of thread and how these create different textures and marks. Some beautiful initial and resolved samples, you show you are very competent with machine stitch and, particularly if this is new to you, that that you have tried really hard. It’s nice to see some hand-stitch elements within these samples too.

I would have liked to see some of these ‘stitched marks’ allow the space to be on their own piece of fabric and in a larger quantity so you could explore intensity, depth and space. Some of the stitch samples loose the quality you have achieved in your drawn marks. It is harder to find your own voice character with stitch as there is a different way on which the mind works with a pencil and with a needle and thread but the overlaps are really interesting space to explore.

I feel now you could now challenge yourself further by being more ambitious and adventurous in your interpretations.  Try developing the element of play when working with stitch, much in the way that you have begun to in your drawing/mark-making. Don’t always feel you have to be neat and tidy you’re your stitch work unless this is important to your idea, allow a thread to sometimes be looser and show its character. For example, what happens if you cut the stitches you make, or unpick them, use the back/reverse of your work, with non- traditional ‘threads’? Challenge your expectations, and expand your understanding and knowledge of what hand stitch can be. Try working with materials that were challenging and perhaps unfamiliar.

n.b. Presentation of samples – avoid sticking your textile work into your book, or at least completely flat, its nice to be able to handle the work and also look at the back.

Consider how you want to show and present these works? I see these as separate to a sketchbook. Is there a reason for your samples being circular? Remember the space around a work can be as important as the marks/stitches made.

Suggestions to help develop your hand stitch:

1. Structure What happens when it becomes multiplied? What kind of surface does it make? Stitch is a three dimensional construction, so its structure is more than surface ornamentation. Think about stitch direction and experiment with the way light falls on the thread.

2. Base How does the stitch interact with the base, is it on cloth or some other material? Is it on no base at all but formed independently – is it rigid to exist without a base? What might the base be, what type of material or pre-existing structure might you use? How might different base cloths affect the stitch? Does your stitch affect the base, as in drawn thread work?

3. Tools What kind of tool is needed to make the stitch and how might changing the tool affect the look of the stitch? Does it need to be sharp to pierce the fabric or strong to hold wire or something substantial?

Does the tool make a hole or create a tear or puncture something?

4. Thread. What material is going to be used to make the stitch itself? How adventurous can you be about the thread?

5. Action How you stitch can affect the outcome. Think of sewing/embroidery like handwriting – an expression of a hand. Explore the character and personality of stitch through: tension, slack, gathers, knots, cutting, fast, slow, neat, sloppy, mistakes – these ways of stitching might change the look of the stitch.

6. Scale Think HUGE, Think miniature, Think repeat, Think multiples

7. Colour Using stitch as a way of exploring and mixing colour or tonal gradation, or of reducing colour so only the structure becomes important. Try it several different ways to see what the colour does to the stitch.

Sketchbooks:

You have worked really well throughout this project but it’s hard to see which your sketchbook work is? If you choose to display your assignment tasks in a sketchbook format then I suggest you have a separate one specifically for your sketchbook work which runs alongside your and separate to your assignment work. Perhaps develop a theme for your sketchbook to help with sources of inspiration, artist and research. Play with your sources of inspiration – cut them up, fold them, collage them together – how does each image inform and interact with each another? Don’t stop at one interpretation of an image or photograph, allow them to develop and inform new creative decisions and outcomes.

Go out and draw textures from life, observe how a mark is made, what ‘action’ made it? or, how have these textures formed? This could influence how you draw or stitch in response. Try to think visually as much as possible in your sketchbook; that is scribbling out ideas; jotting down rough ideas for designs and making colour notes, artist research, photography. Use it as a space to really be free, creative, energetic and explorative …be a magpie, collect those ‘shiny’ things that inspire you, even if your not yet sure why they do, continue to gather them together and reflect on their qualities.

Refer back to OCA study guides:  http://www.oca-student.com/content/keeping-sketchbooks-1

http://www.oca-student.com/node/66668

http://www.oca-student.com/content/keeping-sketchbooks-1

Learning Logs or Blogs / Critical essays:

Brilliant. You have made a really positive start with your learning log, especially considering you haven’t worked on a blog before! Really well observed and considered reflection on the progress and outcomes of the work you have completed.  Build on this by integrating more references into your log that relates to your work, e.g. visual inspiration, the work of other artists and designers. Bring into this more reflections on thoughts on exhibition visits, books and articles you are reading and places you have visited.

Re: presentation – (also see earlier comments) With regards to mounting and presenting your work, there is no hard and fast rule as it depends so much on the work and it can change from piece to piece. If you are creating designs to be sold as samples to an agency/company the presentation/format is easier but, as an artwork or product based work there are many things to consider. For example – the context of the work, conceptually what has driven the work? What do you want to communicate and how is it best to get your work/idea across? This may well be mounting your work flat/on a wall but equally, as your work develops you may find this isn’t appropriate or practically possible. Sometimes the edges of a pieces and the space around a work is as equally important and applying a ‘frame’ to a work will hide this and actually can confuse the ‘reading’ of the work. Your work may not always be viewed in an exhibition but instead in printed or digital/online format so, how and where you photograph your work will also affect this. I think it would be really worthwhile to carry out your own research of how different artists present their work within your learning log. Also, play around and test ways of presenting your work and document this through photography.

Suggested viewing/reading:

Hand Stitch Perspectives – Jane McKeating and Alice Kettle

The Textile Reader – Jessica Hemmings

Pointers for the next assignment:

  • Follow up on advice given in your feedback.
  • Consider how to best present your work.
  • Develop Sketchbook work.
  • Take risks. Be bold. Consider the message behind your work in more depth.
  • Be critical of the work of others and apply the same critiques to your own work.
  • More artist/designer research and where possible visit exhibitions and find artists and designers that really inspire you.

Tutor name:

Hannah Leighton-Boyce

Date

9th September 2014

Next assignment due

3rd November 2014

My reactions to this report are as follows:

I’m pleased to note the comment that I have made a good start to the course.  I have enjoyed the process of developing my creativity , technical and visual skills and look forward to maintaining my commitment & enthusiasm.

I am intending to formally submit my work for assessment at the end of the module and would appreciate any feedback to help me meet the assessment requirements.

Feedback on Drawing/Mark Making

I appreciate the comments made and the ideas to progress further with my drawing.

Feedback on Stitch

The positive comments are appreciated.  Free machine stitch is not new to me, I taught myself the technique last year, but I have not used it in this way before and I became more proficient during this assignment.  I agree that I didn’t explore intensity, depth and space and that some the samples are less expressive.  With hindsight I think I was almost ‘hurrying’ through that section of coursework to move on to the next as I was familiar with the technique.  The work I have done during assignment two has made me more comfortable with focusing on being more expressive.   I would very much like to be more ambitious and adventurous in my interpretations and am trying to work more freely and expressively.  I feel I have made some progress but have a way to go to move away from the ‘neat & tidy’ habit.  I will continue to work towards challenging my expectations and working with new and unfamiliar materials.

I appreciate the suggestions to develop my hand stitch.  I was working on some samples inspired by Julia Caprara’s book ‘Exploring Colour’ whilst this assignment was being assessed and have included them with my Assignment 2 coursework.  I enjoyed using bigger stitches and combining different threads but see that that are still ‘neat and tidy’ and don’t really push boundaries.

Feedback on sketchbooks

I did indicate on several drawings submitted that they were from my sketchbook but there were very few examples.  I have a better idea of how to work in my sketchbook and referred back to the OCA study guides as suggested.  They include some very useful pointers and the prospect of doing as suggested is exciting to me, but as mentioned in the above paragraph I have not been very disciplined with this side of the course as I find the coursework all consuming.

Feedback on Learning Log

I appreciate the positive comments here and understand that more references relating to my visual inspiration and the work of other artists and designers and references on other sources should be included.

Presentation of Work

I appreciate the response to my question about how work should be presented.  I agree with hindsight that its nice to be able to handle the fabric and I have given consideration to presenting Assignment 2 differently.  I have researched the subject a little and some of my findings and thoughts are noted in the back of my pink sketchbook.  I spent some time pinning samples in different ways until I arrived at stitching them in hand made booklets.  I didn’t document the whole process with photography, only remembering to take one picture.  I will continue to develop ideas for presentation of samples and future pieces and work on documenting more aspects of my research and inspiration.

Suggested viewing/reading

I note the titles recommended.

I was delighted to receive my Tutor report and had every intention of acting on all the suggestions and am embarrassed to note, completing this at the end of Assignment 2, that I haven’t responded to many of the suggestions.  I do feel I have made progress and worked consistently over the last 10 weeks, but clearly have a long way to go to cover all aspects of the course.

I am excited by all the suggestions to help develop my work but feel that the coursework takes up most of my spare time and I rarely think to work on other aspects.  This also applies to sketchbook work.  I was concerned about my time management before I started and meant at the the time that I might be distracted working at home and not make time to do the course. This is not the case, I have immersed myself in assignment 2 and worked most days but I need to share that time out more effectively to make time for ‘playing, sketchbook work, reading and visiting exhibitions’ in addition to following the coursework instructions.

Leave a Reply

