Nina's Textile Trail

My OCA Textile Tales

Part 3 Creating Shapes and Three-dimensional Forms – Project 6 Manipulating fabric – Stage 2 Developing Ideas

Leave a comment

Stage 2 – Developing Drawings & Stage 3 – Applique

I definitely understand the process more and have enlarged, traced and copied some areas of the drawings whilst experimenting with ideas but with hindsight see that much more copying, rearranging and playing with shapes, colours will help to refine and develop ideas.

The course notes suggested selecting six interesting drawings or other source material for further development and match some of my fabric groupings with the drawings and to experiment freely with the fabrics.   Having played with the fabrics the idea was to make small collages of fabric on  a piece of paper.   I seem to have had ‘small collages’ fixed in my head and that is what I made, small stitched collages rather than sticking or stapling the pieces down.  I enjoyed looking for relationships in texture, colour and weight and matched three of my collages to my drawings.  I will post the drawings, collages and samples together to illustrate the path of development.

These two collages didn’t match my drawings but are both examples of fabric I enjoy:

(There’s an unusual colour cast on this photo and others in this post, the linen traycloth is white)

DSCF4165

I like blue and white, am often drawn to denim and have a small collection of bought and own shibori style indigo dyed fabric.  I found it harder than expected to incorporate them into a small collage and settled for the following limited selection. If I had to consider the mood this might reflect, I would say calm and serene.

DSCF4164                         DSCF4162

This collage is about texture and colour, I love the tactile nature and rich colour of the cotton velvet and the visual texture of the wool felt and the needlecord.  I used the collage to illustrate a contemporary example of Broderie Perse inspired by Mandy Pattullo’s work.  Although I really like the Hedgerow fabric when you can see the whole pattern repeat and enjoy the use of colour which complemented the background fabrics, I don’t think the appliqued berries worked as well as I’d hoped.  The shape is too ‘square’ and there’s something about how far the left hand leaf extends that offends me, but I am satisfied with the selection and arrangement of the other fabric.

DSCF4163

DSCF4161DSCF4160

This selection of fabric really said ‘autumn’ to me and likened it to the corner of a rather unsatisfactory drawing, which I re-drew on a larger scale.  I think most of the fabrics work well together but I particularly like the use of the brown needlecord as a background.  It was cut from an old skirt and has a lovely handle.  Also one of the leaves cut from the same fabric using a seam in the fabric as the central vein is very effective.  I also like the tweed with the orange flecks and the textured linen, both of which are offset by the hand-dyed sheeting.  Although in this exercise I haven’t developed the use of these fabrics further, I would consider doing so in future.

Leave a Reply

